Occidentalism
Duc, sequere, aut de via decede!

Dragon Wars: Here come the reviews.

September 14th, 2007 . by Gerry-Bevers

Here are some of the first reviews of “Dragon Wars” since its debut in the US. I will add more as I find them. Actually, the reviews are probably more entertaining than the movie because these guys really know how to trash a movie.

Reviewed by Robert Abele

Set in Los Angeles, starring American actors, filmed mostly in English and produced by Korean moviemakers, the rampaging-monsters flick “Dragon Wars” loudly speaks the universal language of effects-laden mayhem. Unfortunately, it is also fluent in the laughable dialogue of a million bad fantasy flicks:

“I never asked for this.”

“You’ve got to live.”

“You have awakened them!” READ MORE

Reviewed by John Monaghan

The only winners in “Dragon Wars” are the computer-imaging geeks who must have logged tons of overtime.

The rest of the world is left scratching its head at a monster epic so dismal that it doesn’t even register as a guilty pleasure. READ MORE

Review by Frank Swietek

The recent Korean monster movie “The Host” was a surprise hit on these shores, a picture that successfully mixed state-of-the-art sci-fi effects, suspense, poignancy and laughs in one smart package. Its success was presumably what encouraged the release of “Dragon Wars” (originally “D-War,” a title still on the U.S. release print), about flying lizards and other mythic beasties and Storm Trooper-type soldiers attacking contemporary Los Angeles, here. But this effort delivers on only one of its predecessor’s elements, since the effects stink, it’s not at all exciting, and one couldn’t care less about the human characters. All it offers are the laughs—and in this case, unfortunately, they’re completely unintentional. READ MORE

Review by Chelsea Bain

When it comes to fantasy action flicks, it doesn’t get much worse than “D-War,” a blend of “King Kong,” “Godzilla” and a nightmare.

The film was written and directed by Korean comedian and actor Hyung-rae Shim, and something tells me between fueling his obsession with big blowouts and low-grade CGI effects, his copy of “Storytelling for Dummies” collected dust. Are you ready for a flashback within a flashback within a flashback sequence? READ MORE

Reviewed by Norman

The level of acting in this film tops off at “porn star.” Maybe porn star is being too generous. Let’s say porn actor. Jason Behr runs through the action with a look of eternal concern etched into his brow. This does not change for the duration of the film. Monotone seemed to be a theme and I can’t help wondering if it was the director that requested it. Sarah moans through her lines, Bruce speeds away from a giant snake with the same look on his face you’d give to a homeless guy trying to squeegee your windows and Jack … Jack who can float and do kung fu … doesn’t do much of anything. Our young lovers have the chemistry of a brother and sister miscast in the school play as Romeo and Juliet. It’s all very hard to watch. Give me a good Spanish soap opera any day of the week over this film. It should be noted that our primary actors play alongside a veritable parade of c list actors, all recognizable as “Oh it’s that guy/girl!” These parts could have been tackled by anyone and only seem to be planted to establish Dragon Wars as an “American Movie” … which it is not, of course. Personally, all of my anticipation lay in waiting to see which of these poor thespians would have to say the word Imoogi with a straight face. READ MORE

Reviewed by Patrick Ferrara

Sporting cinematography and editing that’s more reminiscent of a Power Rangers episode than a big-screen fantasy epic, Dragon Wars stutters into the American box office with a laughable plot and a story riddled with holes… holes big enough for dragons to fit through! READ MORE

Review by Mark Burger

Writer/director Hyung-rae Shim relies totally and wholly on CGI effects to tell the story, but because the story is so unabashedly stupid, that reliance comes off as seriously misguided. Dragon Wars is not remotely credible, even by fantasy-film standards, and it’s not fun enough to encourage audiences to suspend disbelief. There’s never a sense of wonderment or fun, and that’s deadly in a film like this. As befits the filmmaker behind such a one-dimensional a film, Shim is basically a traffic cop. The actors go here. The effects go here. And despite the endless CGI effects, the rest of the cinematography is murky and dark. Dragon Wars (or D-War, as it was originally known) does qualify as a movie: It has a beginning, a middle, and an end–and all of them are useless. READ MORE

Review by Wesley Morris

You don’t have to hand the folks behind “Dragon Wars” much (the acting, directing, costumes, editing, props, music, etc: They’re all off). But when they decide to sic that giant snake and those prehistoric dino-birds on downtown Los Angeles, the movie turns shockingly watchable. Until that sequence, there was no evidence that anybody involved with this laughable fantasy knew what he or she was doing. READ MORE

Review by Roger Moore

What do you want to bet that the most surprised people in the movie business are the cast of “D-War,” a Korean-made, American-cast string of cheese opening in theaters this weekend? Surely none of these actors thought this just-a-paycheck creature feature would ever see the light of a U.S. cineplex.

Star Jason Behr, playing Ethan, a cable TV news reporter privy to info about an ancient Korean legend, didn’t even bother to get a haircut. Silly Jason. Nobody on network news wears their hair like Napoleon Dynamite!

But “D-War” was a hit in Korea, and since the Korean monster movie “The Host” won props and decent box office over here, well, here’s “D-War” — the dumbest dragon movie since “Dragonheart,” and yes, I’ve seen “Reign of Fire.” READ MORE

Review by Linda Cook

I will say that the computer-generated monsters look just fine, although many of the monster hordes that invade Los Angeles appear to be heavily inspired by creations of George Lucas.

Trying to figure out exactly what’s going on here is impossible. Forster’s character can shape-shift, and does so seemingly at will but really isn’t much help to Sarah and Ethan. The military forces from the past run amok. Performers appear to be reading off cue cards. Time after time, characters literally say to each other, “What are you talking about? And you’ll be right there with them in their befuddlement, wondering how on earth anything like this monstrous dud could have been released on the big screen. READ MORE

Review by Luke Y. Thompson

This one’s for connoisseurs of the “totally preposterous crap” school of fantasy cinema….Dragon Wars is a definite wait-for-cable-and-invite-drunken-buddies-over flick. READ MORE

Review by Adam Hakari

It’s difficult to describe how bad this movie is, since it mostly includes specific moments that add up to a collective cruddiness. First, why is the movie even called Dragon Wars when it’s about two serpents fighting each other? Second, how can a giant snake leave a massive trail of destruction no one seems to notice? Third, what’s up with poor Robert Forster randomly beating up a bunch of guys in an alley, then lumbering away like the Frankenstein monster?

Too many of these scenes pop up too often throughout Dragon Wars, seemingly on a mission to stop viewers from having any fun at all. The action scenes are kind of cool when all’s said and done (I have to admit, the shot of the evil serpent wrapping itself around a skyscraper was pretty awesome), but they amount to a whole lot of nothing when you realize the folks you’re rooting for are a guy from The WB and an actress who plays 19 about as well as I play Gloria Steinem. READ MORE

Reviewed by Scott Gwin

I love a good dragon movie and if there were even one positive thing that I could say about the latest dragon flick, believe me, I would say it. Actually, I’m not sure D-War even qualifies as a dragon movie since an actual dragon doesn’t show up until the last five minutes. The story here involves creatures called Imoogi, legendary beasts that look like giant cobras, that battle it out for the right to become a dragon and gain cool things like legs. Even if you want to call it a dragon movie, when you roll in the ripped off special-effects concepts, unbelievably bad acting and plot holes big enough for an Imoogi to slither through, you end up with a final product so dreadful you’ll be begging to watch anything by Uwe Boll just to cleanse your mental palette. READ MORE

Review by Robert Roten

Following this plot is difficult, mainly because the dialog in the film is the worst I’ve heard in a long time. It sounds like it was written by those guys who translate operating instruction manuals from Chinese to English. It is eye-rollingly awful. The acting is terrible too, except for Forster and Elizabeth Peña (“Down in the Valley”), who, as a government CSI, tries to explain the incredible leaps of logic by which the American government somehow determines that the giant serpents will go away and leave everyone alone if they kill Sarah. This is about as convincing as how Ethan, with a brain the size of a pea and zero research skills, is able to find the one true Sarah in Los Angeles among the 1,700 women with that name who fit her general description. READ MORE

Review by Brian Orndort

South Korea is a land of unparalleled beauty and rich cinematic language. Now why would they want to screw all that up by making an extraordinarily dreadful fantasy picture to compete in the worldwide film market? The short answer is money (perhaps the only answer), but the reality is that America does just fine making cringingly terrible special-effect extravaganzas, so back off, South Korea! READ MORE

Review by Uri Lessing

“Dragon Wars” (or “D-War” as the hip youth of America call it these days) may just give “Plan 9 From Outer Space” and “Trolls 2” a run for their money. The movie’s plot and editing are so outrageously bad that nobody will ever get genuine pleasure from this film. There isn’t a person on the planet that can suspend that much disbelief. The acting is painful and nothing really makes any sense. This is not a movie to watch for escapism. This is a movie to watch with a bunch of friends and heckle mercilessly. READ MORE

Review by Brain Tallerico

Every few weeks, The Sci-Fi Channel produces a cheesy original movie, usually broadcast on Saturday nights. Some future Mystery Science Theater classics from the network include Mansquito, SS Doomtrooper, and Volcano in New York. They’re inherently ridiculous with awful acting, horrible dialogue and cheesy special effects, but on the small sceen they harken back to an old-fashioned kind of filmmaking from the era of Roger Corman when the thrill was all that mattered. These are films that certainly aren’t good by standard definitions, but can reach a level of cheesy fun. Well, one of them has escaped. D-War: Dragon Wars, a Korean film shot in Los Angeles with American actors contains all the elements of a Sci-Fi Channel original movie, but proves that these kind of cheeseball extravaganzas aren’t nearly as much fun on the big screen. READ MORE

Review by Josh Larsen

It’s not a good sign when the characters in a fantasy film repeatedly say things like, “What are you talking about?” and “I don’t understand,” as they do in the Korean-produced, American-set “Dragon Wars.”

If they can’t follow the labyrinthine legends and myths that govern the narrative, what hope is there for the rest of us? Though initially burdened by endless exposition, “Dragon Wars” eventually casts story aside to focus on the concerns of its title: large lizards menacing a cast of vaguely familiar American actors. READ MORE

Review by Frank Scheck

NEW YORK — Unlike his countryman Joon-ho Bong’s “The Host,” which revived the monster movie genre with wit and style, South Korean helmer Hyung-rae Shim applies a strictly grade-Z sensibility to “Dragon Wars.” Belatedly receiving a U.S. release after it became a huge hit in its native country (under the title “D-War”), the film boasts superior CGI special effects for a movie of its type. But it’s unlikely to erase anyone’s fond memories of the original “Godzilla” and its ilk. READ MORE

Review by Andy Webster

If you’ve been missing Japanese monster movies, take heart. “Dragon Wars: D-War” (from South Korea actually) proves the genre quite alive. It is such a breathless, delirious stew, it’s impossible not to be entertained, provided — this is crucial — you have a sense of humor. READ MORE

Review by Dustin Putman

“Dragon Wars” is destined to go down in history as one of cinema’s most blunderingly, catastrophically bad big-budget films of the last few decades. Only worth seeing with a large group of friends and a bottle of hard liquor by your side, the movie bypasses the barest hints of behind-the-scenes sanity and enters a realm where the viewer legitimately wonders if what he or she is watching was made by homosapiens. Narrative cohesion is nonexistent. Pacing amounts to the act of spinning your wheels in mud. Without a director able to dictate to his actors what he wants from them—and, it would seem, with no one to translate for him—leads Jason Behr (2007’s “Skinwalkers“) and Amanda Brooks (2005’s “Flightplan“), like their co-stars, perform as if their bodies have been replaced by emotionless robots and their lines are being fed to them from off camera. Yes, it’s that dire. “Dragon Wars” is such a disaster from the bottom up that, on second thought, Uwe Boll might have been able to improve upon the unholy mess that Hyung-rae Shim hath wrought. READ MORE

Review by Jim Hemphill

Pauline Kael once made the oft-quoted assertion that movies are so rarely great art that if one can’t appreciate great trash there’s little reason to go. I can’t agree with her cynicism about the cinema as art, and I suspect that, like so many of Kael’s proclamations, she didn’t really mean it herself (if she really believed it, she must have been a total masochist to spend 40 years reviewing films). I do, however, see the value in appreciating great trash, and the new Korean monster movie Dragon Wars is thoroughly entertaining garbage of the highest order. Completely inane in terms of content but exhilarating as a goofy orgy of destruction, Dragon Wars is the kind of movie for which the term “guilty pleasure” was invented. It’s one of those films where the stuff that’s good is enjoyable, and the stuff that’s bad is equally enjoyable—in fact, the cornball dialogue and nonsensical plotting make the movie more fun, not less. READ MORE

Review by Cynthia Fuchs

“Now is the time,” intones a serious-sounding narrator at the start of DRAGON WARS (D-WAR), “for destiny to unfold.” It’s also the time for confusion to begin. Why, for instance, does Hyung-rae Shim’s movie have two names? Why is it premised on a Korean legend but set in L.A. with American stars? And why, oh why, do both the Bad Big Snake and the Good Big Snake (also called the Good Imoogi) need the same woman to sacrifice herself? READ MORE

More to Come


27 Responses to “Dragon Wars: Here come the reviews.”

  1. comment number 1 by: kazuhima

    i laughed at how desperate the korean netizen reviews sounded on the yahoo movie page. haha

    “what`s this? Korean movie? I can`t believe it… so great! graphics are fantastic… Maybe it`s better than japanese one. umm…but.. I can’t say much about story based on the trailer.”

  2. comment number 2 by: kteen

    Poor Shim…I heard he was a great comedian, but he sure dosen’t know how to make a good movie. Just like Jackie Chan.
    But folks, I think he deserves at least a little bit of credit for what he did; not everyone can release a movie in more than fifteen hundred screens across america.

  3. comment number 3 by: General Tiger

    Thanks for the entertainiment.
    .
    I haven’t seen the movie itself, but at least I knew it would be a failure by seeing the previews.
    .
    Now, what if the CG were used in the Host? Possibly a major movie, instead of one good movie and one horrible movie.

  4. comment number 4 by: kjeff

    Gerry,
    I’m impressed…three separate threads in less than a week for this ‘Korean’ movie. I guess I’m a little bit dull, but I just don’t get it. I haven’t seen the movie so I’ll reserve my judgment, but from the trailer, it looks like a extravagant CGI trash. BTW, I love “The Host(aka: Gae-Mool), and it did open in the U.S.(yes, not wide…), but I don’t remember seeing the coverage here; then again, it’s your blog.
    Going back…please enlighten me…pretty please… The movie, despite its commercial success, was universally panned by Korean critics, and by the audiences. The marketing strategy was widely criticised for its ‘convenient’ manipulation, i.e. nationalism. I guess there can be some lengthy discussion on how, in a lot of ways, this happened, but I’m just not seeing it here.
    .
    If mock were the sole purpose, then I guess you succeeded.
    .
    As a Korean movie fan, I guess I’m just sad and cranky. After(I’m listing the Korean movies that you probably can find in your local BlockBuster in the last two years or so, in somewhat chronological order starting from the most recent one) “The Host”, “Sympathy for Lady Vengeance”, “A Bittersweet Life”, “OldBoy”, “Spring, Summer,…”(and all Kim Ki-Duk’s movie), “Tale of Two Sisters”, “Memories of Murder”, and many others, and “D-War” is the Korean movie that’s going to be widely released. I was so happy(OK, proud…that it’s Korean and that I watched it first), a couple of years, when I saw HBO played “Nowhere to Hide,” and so far Korean imports had been largely excellent(You gotta be amazed how TaeGuki was made, but it’s a soap opera at heart), but arghhhh….uhhh…. D-War!!!

  5. comment number 5 by: T_K

    The budget could’ve funded ten JSAs or Isles, but for some reason, the industry decided that smart thrillers and psychological drama wasn’t its strong suit and gave money to… this?

    I don’t blame Shim, I don’t blame his fans. I blame the sponsors’ lack of judgement.

  6. comment number 6 by: GarlicBreath

    Some more funny reviews:

    Flick is so bad, audiences will breathe fire
    September 15, 2007

    BY JOHN MONAGHAN

    The only winners in “Dragon Wars” are the computer-imaging geeks who must have logged tons of overtime. The rest of the world is left scratching its head at a monster epic so dismal that it doesn’t even register as a guilty pleasure.

    Beastly ’D-War’ a monster mess
    By Chelsea Bain
    Saturday, September 15, 2007

    The film was written and directed by Korean comedian and actor Hyung-rae Shim, and something tells me between fueling his obsession with big blowouts and low-grade CGI effects, his copy of “Storytelling for Dummies” collected dust. Are you ready for a flashback within a flashback within a flashback sequence?

    But the director shim is banking on nationalism mixed with his corean arrogance.

    The studio also thinks Korean pride will deliver big audiences, at least in cities like Los Angeles that have burgeoning Korean populations. To stoke that pride, Mr. Shim included a written message at the end of his movie, one that underscores his desire to make Hollywood his playground: “D-War and I will succeed in the world market without fail.”

    Don’t forget the headline from the chosun ilbo.

    ‘D-War’ Director Returns Home Triumphant

    This may be one of the worst movies ever, but when you read the yahoo movie viewers comments you would think that it was the film of the year. Thanks to corean netizens. It so interesting how almost all coreans think the same. Its like they take orders from a hive that they must love this movie and lie to anybody who will listen on how its the best movie of the year.
    .
    PLEASE take a minute and look at the reviews, its clear that Coreans are posting fake revies.

  7. comment number 7 by: minami562

    So I keep hearing that Koreans are posting great reviews for this movie just because it’s Korean.

    Do Americans, Chinese, or Japanese do the same thing for their countries’ movies?

  8. comment number 8 by: HanComplex

    LOL Another example of typical Korean overconfidence in themselves. Since many Koreans, like Shim, believe they are superior that should somehow also translate to superior film making abilities. What a laugh. Can’t wait to read more thrashings of this movie.

    minami562:
    No, you hardly hear that from those other countries. It’s because people from those nations are not insecure or suffer from some severe complexes like many Koreans do. They don’t need to gauge a movie’s worth by the country of its origin nor use nationalism for promotion.

  9. comment number 9 by: kjeff

    GarlicBreath,
    Wow, you need to show me how yo got that psychic abilities…korean netizens, huh? To me, those were probably a-ra-ba-eet’s(don’t know the spelling, but I think you have the same word in Japanese; it means part-timers). Arghhh…why do I bother? I’m lying again, right?

    Gerry,
    Don’t let those no-good students of yours got to you…Since talking about Korean movie, got curious, do you have any favorite?

    HanComplex,
    It’s always a pity to see someone holding on an idea(any, actually, doesn’t have to be just the bad ones)so tightly that his life seems to depend on it. Why bother moving forward if you’re not progressing that is. Aaahhh…too much watching Kenshin…

  10. comment number 10 by: Gerry-Bevers

    Kjeff,

    Yes, I have seen some Korean movies I liked, but not many. Korean comedies are generally not too bad, but Korean dramas are usually too melodramatic. For example, I did not like many of the movies that Koreans generally consider to be good, such as JSA, Old Boy, Shiri, Taeguki, Silmido, and Marathon. I also general dislike Korean historical dramas.

    My favorite Korean movies are The Foul King (반칙왕), My Wife Is a Gangster 1 (조폭마누라), and Mulberry (뽕). I have not seen any Korean movie that I would consider “great,” but I have watched The Foul King more than once.

    These days the only time I will waste my money on a Korean movie is when I cannot talk a Korean girlfriend into seeing something else.

  11. comment number 11 by: kjeff

    Gerry,
    My recommendations:
    “A Bittersweet Life” and “Tale of Two Sisters” are pretty good; they’re both directed by “The Foul King”‘s director, Kim Ji-Woon. I think you might like them; visually, he’s my favorite director. If you’d watched Hongkong’s “Infernal Affair,” and liked it, I think you’ll like “A Bittersweet Life.” Both reminded me of the best of Hongkong’s gangster genre in the early 90s.
    .
    Actually, I generally don’t like Korean comedies, but I’ve watched “Attack on The Gas Station” more than I should; drive my wife crazy. “Save The Green Planet” is gotta to be one of the wackiest sci-fi/comedy/suspense in any languages, and if you like buddy-cop genre, I’ll go with “Wild Card.” I think listening to Yang Dong-Geun’s weird “accent” is generally worth the price of a rental. “President’s Last Bang” is not really a comedy, but it’s a very funny take on President Park’s last supper; seeing them talking to each other in Japanese was both hilarious and eye-opening(even though I’d known it before watching the movie).
    .
    If I wanted to impress a Korean girlfriend, I’d like “Christmas in August” or “One Fine Spring Day”; both are my wife’s favorites.
    .
    If you don’t like “OldBoy”, I guess you probably won’t like the rest of his revenge trilogy. But, if you ever find yourself bored, worth checking out. “Public Enemy” and “Friend” have similar vibe as the trilogy so you might not like it, but I haven’t found anyone who doesn’t like “Memories of Murder.” I think is the most “perfectly executed”(different from best) movie-making contemporary Korea has to offer in any genre.
    .

    For example, I did not like many of the movies that Koreans generally consider to be good, such as JSA, Old Boy, Shiri, Taeguki, Silmido, and Marathon. I also general dislike Korean historical dramas.

    BTW, I don’t remember them well, but I think, with the exception of JSA, those weren’t received well by Korean critics. I personally like “OldBoy”, but I think it was received better overseas. I don’t know much about “Marathon”‘s reception, except that I wasn’t impressed, almost cliche. I’d stay away from Korean drama because generally they fall into these two categories, melo-drama and artsy-dry drama. And, you should check out koreanfilm.org before you watch a Korean movie; I usually agree with the resident reviewers’ opinions. With hope that you watch at least one of my suggestions.
    .
    P.S. Have you watched “The Host”? I haven’t watched “Tazza”, but I heard it was fun; need to buy new all-region DVD player.

  12. comment number 12 by: Matt

    Gerry and kjeff,

    Generally I do not like Korean movies, but I enjoyed “My boss, My Hero” (투사부 일제) and “Scandal” (스캔들). BTW, I actually met Bae Yong-joon, and I also met Marathons Cho Seung-Woo. I actually spoke with Cho Seung-Woo for about 5 minutes, and then got a photo with him.

    I thought the much touted JSA sucked bad, real bad. When I told my Korean friend of this my Korean friend gave me the standard line about having to be Korean to understand the feelings involved etc., so I reminded my friend that really good movies cross cultural boundaries.

    Friend (친구) really, really sucked. Seriously, I never want to see a Korean get high on hiropon again, 🙂

    I don’t like most Japanese movies either, for that matter.

  13. comment number 13 by: GarlicBreath

    korean netizens, huh?

    You deny that they are coreans? This is why I think deep down, and not so deep down, you are a dishonest person.

    why do I bother? I’m lying again, right?

    Well 🙂 I did catch you in a few lies. :). But I guess to Coreans lying for the ‘motherland’ makes the lie ok.

    Since talking about Korean movie, got curious, do you have any favorite?

    I haven’t seen any I like.

  14. comment number 14 by: kteen

    You deny that they are coreans?

    But I guess to Coreans lying for the ‘motherland’ makes the lie ok.

    I’m a korean too, and I think D-War SUCKS. What does that make me? A traitor?

  15. comment number 15 by: kjeff

    Matt,
    Hmmm…a lot of non-Korean friends that I know seem to like “My boss, My Hero” which sort of funny because most Koreans that I know seem to hate it. My wife practically threw a fit when her father rented the sequel. I actually hated “Friend”, and dumbfounded that people liked it the first time I saw it, but on second viewing, it was actually quite good. And I agree, probably due to the subject matter, JSA was over-hyped. I thought “Scandal” did a brilliant job adapting the much-told story, although I thought the Catholicism angle was a bit forced. The settings and custom pieces were simply beautiful. I sometimes put it on just to look at them.
    .
    BTW, I wonder what other Korean movies you have seen. These days, to people around my age, I usually recommend “Memories of Murder” for their first Korean movie. It really has the right balance between commercial and independent movies that’s really hard to find, although in a sense, it is a compromise, which also makes it not a great movie. If you haven’t seen it, why don’t you give it a try. “A Bittersweet Life” is really a great action(some might say ‘gore’)-noir, a limited genre, but if you have a big screen and a good stereo system, I’d definitely watch this one first; the soundtrack is just amazing(better than OldBoy), reminiscence of the great Enrico Morrione; music-wise, it’s on par with “A Few Dollars More”.
    .
    And,(sigh) D-War… Somebody should write a paper on how it became one of the top grossing movies in Korea; I think it’ll be an interesting read in so many ways. To just say nationalism, nationalism, nationalism is just too simplistic.
    .
    GarlicBreath,

    I haven’t seen any I like.

    Do you mind telling me what you have seen. Pretty please…
    P.S. “…without fail,” really sounds funny when translated into English, but it’s a common expression in Korean language that people throw around without truly meaning it. I wonder if you have a similar expression in Japanese.

  16. comment number 16 by: Matt

    My wife practically threw a fit when her father rented the sequel.

    There is a sequel???? Link!

  17. comment number 17 by: kjeff

    Matt,
    It’s called “My Boss, My Student”, you can find the info here.

  18. comment number 18 by: Matt

    Matt,
    It’s called “My Boss, My Student”, you can find the info here.

    I will downlo… ah, buy it now.

  19. comment number 19 by: HanComplex

    I also met Marathons Cho Seung-Woo. I actually spoke with Cho Seung-Woo for about 5 minutes, and then got a photo with him.

    You met the guy? Lucky you. I have a lot of respect for him as an actor. He’s in a few movies I’ve seen like “Chunhyang,” “Classic” and “Who are you,” the last of which is basically a Korean “You’ve got mail.” As I recall he’s originally a stage actor before heading into films. I think “Marathon” is probably his best film to date.

    Gerry,
    I don’t think you can go wrong with Kim Ji-Woon’s movies. He can do a comedy like “Foul King” yet shift to psycho-horror with “Tale of Two Sisters” then change gears again with “Bittersweet Life.” I have all those on DVD, including an autographed copy of the latter. I have yet to see his “The Quiet Family,” a black comedy. His next movie is gonna be some type of Western from what I’ve read.

    I’m a huge fan of Asian cinema (HK, Japan, Korea, Thai, etc.) so if you need recommendations just holler.

  20. comment number 20 by: GarlicBreath

    And,(sigh) D-War… Somebody should write a paper on how it became one of the top grossing movies in Korea; I think it’ll be an interesting read in so many ways. To just say nationalism, nationalism, nationalism is just too simplistic

    Actually Coreans are just that simplistics (sigh). I have learned that again and again. A Corean judge, an unwanted castaway dirty halfbreed (english translation of a corean expression) american gyopos and real coreans, all seem to hold the same opinon of the movie (not all). Its also impossible to fine blackmarket DVD’s of the movie. However corean police will be happy to point to the local blackmarketer for foreighn DVDs.

  21. comment number 21 by: GarlicBreath

    Coreans are still singing the prasis of D-war.

    Corea times:

    ‘D-War’ Ranks 5th in US Box Office in 1st Day Earnings

    I can’t blame coreans for putting their best foot forward, but they stepped in dog shit on this one (and then they ate the dog).

    .
    Another honest review.

    Beastly ’D-War’ a monster mess
    By Chelsea Bain

    D-WAR: D
    When it comes to fantasy action flicks, it doesn’t get much worse than “D-War,” a blend of “King Kong,” “Godzilla” and a nightmare.

    The film was written and directed by Korean comedian and actor Hyung-rae Shim, and something tells me between fueling his obsession with big blowouts and low-grade CGI effects, his copy of “Storytelling for Dummies” collected dust. Are you ready for a flashback within a flashback within a flashback sequence?

    What a really shitty movie, but when a shitty movie is Corean and that shitty movie pulls the nationalism strinks of coreans.. well coreans have no choice but to support their true motherland.

  22. comment number 22 by: kjeff

    Matt,
    and Gerry…
    .
    Happen to catch a scene from “Sex and The City” where unruly children roam free in a restaurant, making all sort of noises. No one seem to care. Samantha, however, was asked by the waiter to not use her cell-phone in the restaurant. Dumbfounded, she asked him, “How about them?” “They’re children,” the waiter replied, with a puzzled face.
    .
    Is that how it goes here too…for someone like GarlicBreath, “He’s a child; he doesn’t know better?” Just want to know…will appreciate a reply.

  23. comment number 23 by: HanComplex

    ‘D-War’ Ranks 5th in US Box Office in 1st Day Earnings

    I was surprised upon reading this. Did all the residents of LA Koreatown come out to see it on a patriotic frenzy?
    .
    From all accounts it sounds to be a true trainwreck of a movie. Maybe it’s Korea’s answer to the US’ “Ishtar.” Koreans who rate it high simply because it’s Korean really have some serious issues to contend with. Then again, for non-Koreans who know Koreans well what else is new.

    What a really shitty movie, but when a shitty movie is Corean and that shitty movie pulls the nationalism strinks of coreans.. well coreans have no choice but to support their true motherland.

    I think you have a point when you said Robert Kim was probably at the premiere. 🙂

  24. comment number 24 by: GarlicBreath

    Here is an example of a Corean poster on http://movies.yahoo.com/movie/1808746240/user

    this movie is my dream…
    by kywxx (movies profile) Mar 23, 2006
    4 of 10 people found this review helpful

    i’m really exciting and i hope this movie is succeful this movie is only one koreans SF movie…
    please on the top please everybody can watch this movie….and please boxoffice 1!!!!!……………….i believe sim
    !!!god jesus help korea!!!!!!!

    Kim.

    Greatest movie ever
    by win0419b (movies profile) Sep 14, 2007
    4 of 10 people found this review helpful

    I can’t believe this. It full of uniqueness and pride of directer own. It deserve all oscar award, including short animation award. It is better than citizen kane and jurassik park.

    Virtue of this movie is deus ex machina. you can watch deus ex machina every all the time in this movie. No moment is not related to deus ex machina.

    And victory to professor jin!

    Greatest ever? Well its Corean after all. How could it not be the greatest.

    What an amazing movie it is!!
    by drkwon (movies profile) Sep 14, 2007
    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

    Never expected except just killing time but it overwhelmed me with the unexpected spectacles and story. Computer graphics are the best and the ending scene is good to make the story line completed. Must see movie I recommend!!

    Just amazing right Kwon?

    WARNING! JEALOUS RACISTS ARE BASHING
    by algiyu (movies profile) Sep 14, 2007
    2 of 6 people found this review helpful

    Be careful some of JEALOUS RACISTS postings that have flooded yahoo’s movie review site! Many took by surprise some of jealous losers bashing on Korean movie, these losers can’t stand ANY Korean doing better than their one, Many movie goer says the D-WAR was very entertaining SCi-Fi movie, A brilliant piece of fantasy storytelling and especially younger crowds loved the movie after they saw it. Don’t believe bad mouthing Korean haters who vigerously come out posting on this boards! Those Who Stir up Hatred Often Have Ulterior Motives

    If you dont love D-war you are racist. Hmmm… heard that a few times from Coreans. Almost as if they are all trained to say the same thing.

    It is a very good movie~~! It is a very good movie
    by webdmkim (movies profile) Sep 14, 2007

    very good~~! very good. very good.
    very good~~! very good. very good.
    very good~~! very good. very good.
    very good~~! very good. very good.
    very good~~! very good. very good.
    very good~~! very good. very good.

    This is annoying flooding by a Corean named kim. The purpose is just to add one more A+ to the ratings.

    fantastic movie!!!!
    by yongstriker (movies profile) Sep 14, 2007

    wonderful~~ best movie !!

    dragon~~dragon~~ dragon~~

    best movie best movie best movie best movie best movie best movie best movie best movie best movie best movie best movie best movie best movie best movie best movie best movie best movie best movie best movie best movie best movie best movie best movie

    More childish corean flooding.

    Gerat
    by bh7311 (movies profile) Sep 14, 2007

    This is the greatest movie in my life.This is the greatest movie in my life.This is the greatest movie in my life.

    Yet more flooding and like all the others the grade is A+

    Good

    by parklim99 (movies profile) Sep 14, 2007
    1 of 3 people found this review helpful

    Good Good Very Good
    Good Good Very Good
    Good Good Very Good
    Good Good Very Good
    Good Good Very Good
    Good Good Very Good
    Good Good Very Good
    Good Good Very Good
    Good Good Very Good
    Good Good Very Good
    Good Good Very Good
    Good Good Very Good
    Good Good Very Good

    Vankers.

    WARNING ! RACIST BASHERS WORKING ON THIS SITE
    by blockbuster_20089 (movies profile) Sep 14, 2007
    4 of 10 people found this review helpful

    Be careful of the BASHING postings that have flooded yahoo’s movie review site! d-war is best sci-fi film in years. A brilliant piece of fantasy storytelling. I saw this movie with my friends they all love it!

    Those Jealous losers come out vigerously
    bash this movie Have Ulterior Motives. Don’t believe these jealous racist hater’s words on this site.

    Calling people jealous losers if they disagree. Sounds like lil’al.

    Good movie
    by jihoonlee_2000 (movies profile) Sep 14, 2007

    -CG very very good……..
    -good movie to see with family.
    -Amazing LA that broken by dragon.
    -I want to see one more time!!!!
    -no wasting your money
    -made in korea
    -korean No.1

    corea no1..

    Yea koreans
    by philler93 (movies profile) Sep 16, 2007

    i dont know why people are saying that they cant believe that this is a korean movie. Not all of korea is in poverty and dictated by kim jong il. Theres a place called SOUTH KOREA. where people live free and have more technological advances than america so believe it.

    corea no1, yes it goes on and on.

    It’s a beautiful movie ever in the world
    by ubetergo (movies profile) Sep 16, 2007
    1 of 3 people found this review helpful

    I just saw it yesterday 3times. But the dragon is still in my head. It’s just so beautiful and amazing. I wanna see again and again. I really got impressed and felt so great. It’s just terrific. I hope this movie get the Academy award!!!! CG was so wonderful, and the place where they shot in Korea was so beautiful! I wanna visit Korea!

    Beautiful Corea. Now you know that guy is lying.

    Please see the movie now!
    by byukim7 (movies profile) Sep 15, 2007

    This is the best movie I saw in my life.

    All the people should see this movie, Koreans and foreigners. Koreans must see this movie. If you do not do, you do not help Korea.

    The director, Shim hyung-rae, said that this movie will get Oscar best picture and will be #1 movie in the US and he asked that we help him. It is now #5. So, we have to change it to #1. So, more persons should see this movie because this movie is very good.

    All the persons should help him because Shim hyung-rae is a Korean hero. I called all the people I know and told them to see a very good movie. You should too.

    corean nationalism. pathetic.

  25. comment number 25 by: GarlicBreath

    D war is pulling in about 134$ a theater. Each theater has about four shows, which means its pulling in 33 dollars a screen. That is about four pathetic nationalistic coreans a show.
    .
    That nationalist director must have made some big promises to the theaters to get them to show the movie. And now they have almost no hope to get paid. I suspect some lawsuits, and a big lesson learned never to belive a corean regarding how good a movie is.
    .
    This movie will go down as one of the shittest ever. Phi-ding!

  26. comment number 26 by: HanComplex

    It turns out it’s not only at Yahoo Movies that Korean netizens are rating it highly. They’re also at IMDB giving it high marks because it’s, well, Korean. It got so bad a user posted this:

    I know this may not be the worst movie every, but it is definitely the worst movie I have ever seen.

    KOREANS GIVING THIS MOVIE 10s PLEASE STOP.


    This movie is complete kokadukie. Do not watch it at all costs. My mind is still scarred and perhaps will be for life.

    And to the Koreans writing here that gave it 10s, stop being nationalistic tools and start being global citizens.

    .
    There are lots of other fun reviews there as well:

    The reason my title says 50 minutes of my life that I will never get back is because even though the move is 90 minutes long, I actually walked out after 50 minutes.

    Try as I might, I couldn’t subject myself to any more of the horrible acting, awful story line, lame humor and video game quality CG.

    Until today, I have never walked out of a move in my life so I tried very hard to find a reason to stay and watch the movie but I just couldn’t come up with a single reason.

    I have read all the comments from some foreign viewers touting this movie as the next Star Wars. In my opinion, movies should not be what makes your proud of your nationality.

    If you are really having a hard time finding something to celebrate, celebrate communism, it is much more enjoyable to live through than D-War.

    .

    In all my 37 years of seeing movies I have NEVER asked for a refund for a movie ticket.

    …until this film.
    .
    The writing is terrible. It’s like they did a survey of all the Hollywood action movies and picked out the most common lines, then tossed them all higglety-pigglety into the script.

    Black Man:”It’s time you took this” (hands White Man a gun) White Man:”Come on, you know I hate those things” The Black sidekick is SO ridiculously stereotyped it’s almost nauseating. The fact that the main characters keep abandoning him to the bad guys in a fight makes me wonder why he would even be in the next scene, even if he survived.

    .

    i just lost one and a half hours of my life
    Where do i start ??? It was bad, so bad kids were walking out of the theater. No, not to go to the bathroom but to go home. The story was shocking and so jarring that my mind is still feeling the after shocks.

    The best thing about the movie was seeing parts of Korea that i love, Jeju Island and they were too short. The graphics were well below par and almost all stolen, the army scenes looked liked they were straight out of LOTR. The dragon was the Basilisk from Harry Potter and the walking reptiles with rocket launches were from Star Wars episode one.

    The reason i am writing this, though i fear i am losing more of my life, is to worn others from the same fate.

    beware

    .

    Please, do yourself a favor and do not (DO NOT) see this movie. I would have to disagree with the last post and say that this is so bad it is NOT enjoyable. I went to see it with friends also, and even though we laughed, a lot, it was still not worth the $6.50 and definitely not worth the hour and a half we spent in there.

    I don’t want to get into detail as to why the movie was so bad. I don’t want to relive that experience. I’m almost crying now just telling you it was bad. Please just trust me, don’t go! If you must see it, wait a month and watch it on USA, wait, no, Sci-Fi. Wait no, there isn’t a TV channel crappy enough that would play this garbage.

    .

    left me speechless at the end of the movie.

    overall, in my opinion, the movie gets 5 out of 10. 1 because i’m a Korean. plus 1 because i want Korean movies to succeed overseas. plus 1 because the CG is not too bad. plus 1 because it’s little better than the previous movie by Shim. last plus 1 is added because i’m a Korean.

  27. comment number 27 by: Durf

    Over on the IMDB page I noticed this:

    Germany: 107 min (European Film Market) / South Korea: 90 min

    What do the Korean filmmakers have against Germany?